USGS - science for a changing world

Upper Midwest Environmental Sciences Center

Nathan De Jager

Nathan R. De Jager         

Position Title:  Research Ecologist (Landscape)

Adjunct faculty: University of Wisconsin-La Crosse
                       University of New England, Armidale, NSW Australia

Email: ndejager@usgs.gov
Phone: 608.781.6232
Fax: 608.783.6066

Education:
2008 Ph.D., Ecology, Evolution and Behavior, University of Minnesota
2005 M.S. Biology, University of Minnesota

Research Interests:


Research interest

Active Projects:

Effects of river-floodplain connectivity and flood inundation on vegetation and soil nutrient dynamics along the Upper Mississippi River Floodplain. With: Yao Yin (USGS, yyin@usgs.gov), Meredith Thomsen (University of Wisconsin-La Crosse (mthomsen@uwlax.edu), Eric Strauss (University of Wisconsin-La Crosse estrauss@uwlax.edu), Ben Cogger (former UWL graduate student), Whitney Swanson (current UWL graduate student), Amber Miller (current UWL graduate student)

Developing quantitative indicators of riverine landscape pattern for use in broad-scale planning of Upper Mississippi River restoration projects. With Jason Rohweder (USGS, jrohweder@usgs.gov), Timothy Fox (tfox@usgs.gov)

Spatial patterns in aquatic nutrients, fish communities and native mussels in the Upper Mississippi River. With Jeff Houser (USGS, jhouser@usgs.gov), Brian Ickes (USGS, bickes@usgs.gov), Teresa Newton (USGS, tnewton@usgs.gov).

Spatial scaling of continuous surface metrics applied to lidar data from the Upper Mississippi River, USA and Murrumbidgee River, Australia. Martin Thoms (University of New England, Armidale, NSW, Australia mthoms2@une.edu.au), Murray Scown (current UNE graduate student).

Assessing ecological impacts of moose herbivory under varying moose population densities absent the regulatory effects of wolves on Isle Royale National Park. With Mark Romanski (NPS, mark_romanski@nps.gov) and Brian Sturtevant (USFS, bsturtevant@fs.fed.us).

Select Publications:
De Jager, N.R. and Fox, T.J. 2013. Curve Fit: A pixel-level raster regression tool for mapping landscape patterns. Methods in Ecology and Evolution 4: 789-792.

De Jager, N.R., Cogger, B.J., and Thomsen, M.T. 2013. Interactive effects of flooding and deer browsing on floodplain forest recruitment. Forest Ecology and Management 303:11-19.

Pastor, J. and De Jager, N.R. 2013. Simulated responses of moose populations to browsing-induced changes in plant architecture and forage production. Oikos 122:575-582.

De Jager, N.R. and Houser, J.N. 2012. Variation in water mediated connectivity influences patch distributions of total nitrogen (TN), total phosphorous (TP) and TN:TP ratios in the Upper Mississippi River, USA. Freshwater Science 31: 1254-1272.

De Jager, N.R. 2012. The allometry of community level stem size-density distributions in a floodplain forest. American Journal of Botany 99: 1572-1576.

De Jager, N.R. Thomsen, M.T., Yin, Y. 2012. Threshold effects of flood duration on the vegetation and soils of the Upper Mississippi River floodplain, USA. Forest Ecology and Management 270:135-146.

De Jager, N.R., Pastor, J., Hodgson, A.L. 2009.Scaling the effects of moose browsing on forage distribution from plant canopies to landscapes. Ecological Monographs, 79: 281-297.

De Jager, N.R. and Pastor, J. 2009.Declines in moose population density at Isle Royale National Park, MI, USA and accompanied changes in landscape patterns. Landscape Ecology 24: 1389-1403

Links:
Long Term Resource Monitoring Program

Landscape indicators

Curriculum Vitae

Return to Staff Directory red arrow

Accessibility FOIA Privacy Policies and Notices

Take Pride in America logo USA.gov logo U.S. Department of the Interior | U.S. Geological Survey
URL: http://www.umesc.usgs.gov/staff/bios/nrd0.html
Page Contact Information: Contacting the Upper Midwest Environmental Sciences Center
Page Last Modified: March 14, 2014